New Shire created in the Kingdom of Lochac

The former Canton of Krae Glas is now the newest Shire in the Kingdom of Lochac. At its January meeting, the SCA's Board of Directors approved the change in status from Canton to Shire for Krae Glas. The group, formerly a canton of the Barony of Stormhold, is located in the south-eastern suburbs of the city of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. Melbourne, with a population approaching 4 million, is Australia's second largest city, and was the capital of Australia until 1927 when the purpose-built Canberra (the Barony of Politarchopolis, in SCA geography) was completed.

The new Shire includes parts of Western and Southern Gippsland and the Mornington Peninsula. It recently played host to the Kingdom of Lochac's 12th Night Coronation. This means the the Melbourne region now is made up of the Barony of Stormhold (with its Canton of Dubh Thrain in the north and the College of St Bartolomew at Melbourne University), the Shire of Arrowsreach to the east, and the Shire of Krae Glas (with the College of St Monica at Moansh University) to the south-east. Its neighbors are the incipient Shire of Cairn Faill to the west (Ballarat and the Goldfields) and the Incipient Canton of Iseldir to the south and east (Bass Coast and Gippsland). The closest official groups to Melbourne are the Barony of Innilgard to the west (470 miles/750km away) and the Shire of Borderscros to the north (200 miles/300km away).